Notifications

Setting your notifications

Notifications are messages or notices sent to your email, text message or app, when new content is shared in the group. Depending on your group activity, you may always want real time notifications (default) or you can choose to reduce the notifications with daily digests.

Whether you have the app installed, are signed up via email or phone, you can choose how often you would like to receive notifications. To select, click on the cog menu beside your group name, followed by "My Group Notifications".

Each communication channel (app, email, SMS) has the same options:

  • Immediate notifications for EVERYTHING - this includes all comments and reactions made to all messages.
  • Immediate notifications for messages involving me - this includes all messages sent directly to you, everyone in the group or any circles you are part of. You will not be notified when other members comment or react to the message thread, unless they mention you directly (@name).
  • Daily digest - this includes a summary of which of your groups have new messages and will direct you to the app for more information.

You may also choose to turn off notifications entirely (toggle all notification options to off), which means you would need to visit the app in order to see any new messages, events or updates. Notifications are sent to the least disruptive channel you have enabled: 
<- Least | App | Email | SMS | Most ->

Silencing message threads

Members can also choose to silence notifications from a specific message thread directly in the app. Simply click the bell icon located in the top right of the message, next to the date and time. When silenced, members will have to check the app directly for any updates on the selected thread.

Priority notifications

Have an important message you want your group to see? Selecting the Priority Message toggle promotes your communication, sending an alert to your members’ texts, emails and app notifications. This ensures your group can be notified immediately in urgent situations, even if someone has silenced their notifications. 

In the case of a Priority Message, you will receive a notification on the most disruptive channel regardless of your settings. These types of messages should only be used by admins and are designed for urgent communication.

Group Admins can determine who can send this type of communication either in the "Group Permissions" section of the group admin settings, or in the "Members" tab. In order for select group users to send these messages, you must have "Members can send priority messages" toggled on in "Group Permissions". To designate the individual/s, head to the "Members tab", click the "..." menu on the top right, followed by "Manage Roles" and "priority message sender".

Notifications from an admin perspective

As an admin, when starting your group, it's important to let your members know that they can choose how they want to receive notifications. This personal choice does mean that your members may not always immediately see your messages, unless it's an emergency Priority Message. 

You can set your group initially to "Immediate notifications for everything", "Immediate notifications for messages involving me" or "daily digest" notifications, rather than silencing them altogether. Members may then choose to change their personal settings.

Silence notifications for everyone

Admins can also choose to silence the notifications from a specific message for everyone. This will not be used often, but can be helpful in a large group where there is a high number of responses to a message thread. To utilize, click on the "..." menu to the right of the message, followed by "Silence notifications for everyone".