My Community

My Community has been designed to help you foster both new and existing connections in Joinable.

Address book

Built like an address book, the My Community feature lists all of the members in each of your groups, along with a list of the groups you share. 

Invite new connections

You can invite new friends to join My Community. Simply click the "+ Invite" button, then show them the QR code to scan, share via email, or copy the link to an SMS message. New users will be asked to create an account, prior to arriving in My Community. Initially, until they build more connections, they will only be able to see the person that invited them. 

Messaging & chat

To chat to your connections in, click on "+ Message", then select the members you would like to interact with. Chat messages can happen with single individuals, or with a number of people who may be from different groups. 

Interests

When a new user first arrives in My Community, there is a prompt to "Add information". This is a great way to share a little about yourself and your interests, facilitating connections with other members.

Personal profile

Your personal information settings are located at the bottom of the global group navigation (on the left side in the web app, and by clicking the "three lines" menu icon in the top left of the mobile app). Select the cog-wheel next to your name. Here you can set you profile image, first name, last name, email, phone number, address and bio.

Personal settings

Your personal information is global across all your groups, but you can choose exactly what information you share per group. Click the drop down menu next to the My Community group name, and then select "My Permissions." Here, via the toggles, you can decide if you want to share your email, address, personal bio and interest tags. 

Notifications

Notifications

Want to determine how often you receive notifications from Joinable? Click on the drop down menu next to My Community and select "My Community Notifications". Depending on how you are signed up (App, email or SMS), you can choose to be notified either immediately for all messages, immediately for all messages involving you or by daily digest.