Messaging (groups)

Overview

Joinable enables you to message your entire group and guarantee they get the details they need. Whether participants prefer to communicate via emails, text or directly in the app, Joinable gets the message out in the channel they prefer.

Messages

Getting information out to your group is important and easy! To send a message, select "Inbox", "+ Post" then either “Chat” or “New Post”. 

Messages can be sent to your whole group, directly to an individual/s or to a designated circle. Within a message you can include a poll, event poll and photos, videos or documents, as well as send a priority message. Participants can respond to a message in the app, unfollow a conversation and silence notifications.

Within the app, Members also have various message options, including editing and archiving a message and unfollowing a conversation, by selecting the "..." menu menu located at the top right of a message.

You can also tag someone in a message thread, by including @firstnamelastname. 

Chat

Because we support member engagement without the app, standard messages are treated as emails (with a subject line and message body). For casual one-on-one or small group communication, many prefer chat (or direct messages). This is a single, endless comment thread, similar to text messaging. To send a "Chat" message, head to Inbox > “+ Post”, “Chat” then select recipient.

Using email

Joinable supports members who choose to only participate using email. Members can send a message to the group by sending an email to "group-handle@groups.joinable.us" — you can find this email in the "Group Information" screen (click group name dropdown -> Group Information). Email users can also reply to messages they receive by email — these replies will show up as comments under the message

Text messaging / SMS

Members using only SMS will receive notice of new messages, but will not be able to initiate or reply to these messages through SMS. They can click a link in their SMS which will take them either to their app or a browser version of Joinable. SMS users will be requested to download the app, though it is not essential.

Comments, reactions and GIFs

Members can engage with a message by either commenting directly underneath, or by clicking on the little smiley face (to the right), adding a reaction. You can add as many as you like, or remove a reaction by clicking on it a second time. To include a GIF, click on the "+" in the comment section at the bottom of the screen.

To edit or delete a comment, on desktop click on the "..." directly to the right of your text, beside the reaction button. On the app, long press on the comment.

Image attachments

You can attach images and videos to messages. When first composing a post, you can choose "Photos" from the list in the modal below the message field.

Attaching events & polls

You can either create and attach these types of content from the “+ Post" compose screen, or you can start on the Activities tab (e.g., Events). Learn more about Events and Polls.

Drafts

Messages are automatically saved as soon as you start typing the title. These can be saved with files and polls included and can be found under "Drafts" in the "Inbox".

Lock message

An admin can choose to lock a message thread, which means that group members will no longer be able to comment. To lock a message, click on the "..." followed by "Lock message".

Reply privately

Members may not want to respond to #everyone after receiving a group message, but rather just individually to the sender. By selecting the "Reply privately" button, located to the right of the sender’s name and message title, they will be redirected into a 1-on-1 chat.

Archived messages

Messages can be archived by either sliding the message to the right, or by selecting the "..." menu at the top right of the mobile app, followed by "Archive." To view previously archived messages from the Inbox, select the "..." menu, followed by "Archived".

Deleting messages

An admin can choose to delete a message thread entirely. Please note that it will be permanently deleted for the entire group and should only be used with everyone's consent. Archiving messages should be the preferred solution for clearing out your inbox. To delete, click on the "..." menu, followed by "Delete for everyone".

Engagement insights

For each message, the admin or sender can track the post's engagement insights by clicking on the little chart, located to the right of the bell icon in the top right corner. Find out more about engagement insights here.